SAVING WATER

Facade
The Hypovereinsbank, on Stephanplatz in Karlsruhe. A rather inconspicuous building, which is characterized by the horizontal elements of the facade and offers many possibilities for mapping. Due to its location opposite Stephanplatz, the already existing infrastructure and open space is an optimal basis for a crowd game.

Saving_Water_Planung_Crowd_Game_pong_li

Gameplay
Work together, avoid dangers and direct the water to the dry earth. Nature will thank you for it!

With the Projection Mapping Crowd Game, PONG.Li Studios brought the topic of sustainability to Karlsruhe's city center. The players (up to 6 per game round) were invited to jointly control platforms in the form of a facade projection via an app so that as little water as possible is wasted. The interactive large-scale projection is based on the award-winning facade game „Capture the Pyramid“, which PONG.Li Studios developed back in 2015 for the first Castle Light Games. From September 17th till October 17th, 2021, the projection could be seen on the facade of the HypoVereinsbank Karlsruhe.

This is one of twelve media art projects selected as part of the 2020 UNESCO City of Media Arts Karlsruhe project funding program and will be shown as part of the Seasons of Media Art exhibition at ZKM Karlsruhe.

karlsruhe-cityofmediaarts_logo_crowdgames
zkm_logo_crowdgames

TIMEFRAME

September 17 – October 17, 2021

LOCATION

Karlsruhe (Germany) – Stephanplatz

DIE CROWD GAMES

Saving WaterProject type

Capture the PyramideProject type

Individual Crowd GameProject type

SAVING WATER

Saving_Watter_appstore
Saving_Watter_googleplay

ANLEITUNG

Wenn du dich auf dem Stephanplatz in Karlsruhe befindest:

1. Verbinde dein Phone mit dem WLAN „Saving Water“ und dem Passwort SavingWater2021
2. Lade die App.
3. Starte die App und spiele mit!

Fassade
Die Hypovereinsbank, am Stephanplatz in Karlsruhe. Ein eher unscheinbares Gebäude, das durch die horizontalen Elemente der Fassade geprägt ist und viele Möglichkeiten zum Mapping bietet. Durch die Lage gegenüber des Stephanplatzes ist die bereits vorhandene Infrastruktur und der Freiraum eine optimale Grundlage für ein Crowd Game.

Saving_Water_Planung_Crowd_Game_pong_li

Gameplay
Arbeitet zusammen, umgeht Gefahren und leitet das Wasser zur trockenen Erde. Die Natur wird euch dafür danken!

Mit dem Projection Mapping Crowd Game bringen die PONG.Li Studios das Thema Nachhaltigkeit in die Karlsruher Innenstadt. Die Spieler:innen (bis zu 6 pro Spielrunde) werden eingeladen, Plattformen in Form einer Fassadenprojektion über eine App gemeinsam so zu steuern, dass so wenig Wasser wie möglich verschwendet wird. Die interaktive Großprojektion ist an das preisgekrönte Fassadenspiel „Capture the Pyramide“ angelehnt, welches die PONG.Li Studios bereits 2015 für die ersten Schlosslichtspiele entwickelten. Vom 17. September bis 17. Oktober 2021 wird die Projektion an der Fassade der HypoVereinsbank Karlsruhe zu sehen sein.

Dies ist eines von zwölf im Rahmen des Projektförderprogramms 2020 der UNESCO City of Media Arts Karlsruhe ausgewählten Medienkunstprojekten und wird im Rahmen der Seasons of Media Art Ausstellung des ZKM Karlsruhe gezeigt.

karlsruhe-cityofmediaarts_logo_crowdgames
zkm_logo_crowdgames
Saving_Watter_appstore
Saving_Watter_googleplay

ZEITRAUM

17. September – 17. Oktober 2021 (20:00 – 22:00 Uhr)

LOCATION

Karlsruhe – Stephanplatz

DIE CROWD GAMES

Saving WaterProject type

Capture the PyramideProject type